Just another WordPress.com site

Trying to put everything together… at the airport.

Let me start off by saying Machu Picchu was amazing.  I was up there early enough to see the sunrise before my official tour of the site.  The stonework was awesome and completely blew me away in some places.  There was one stone that has 32 different angles cut into it! 

I was able to hike up to Huayna Picchu, the smaller mountain on the right side of the pictures from my last post.  It is the mountain that provides the backdrop for the traditional Machu Picchu postcard photo.  I even walked down the back side of Huayna Picchu to the Temple of the Moon, which was really cool.  I love the way that the Incans built things to fit the environment that already existed. 

 

Maybe it was the 400 meter climb back UP from the Temple of the Moon on Thursday, or the fact that our bus back from the train station in Ollyamtambo to Cuzco broke down late that night (the company sent another bus for us), or maybe my body decided to crash and come down from the high of the last month of travelling, but I found myself wanting to sleep most of the day yesterday.  My master plan, was to use the 10 hour lay over I have here at the Lima airport to upload photos and provide an amazing post of the climax of my Fund for Teachers Fellowship in Peru.  

……

Too bad I forgot to take the USB cord that connects my camera to the computer out of my checked luggage when I was packing last night.  🙂  Pictures will have to wait until I get back to the United States.  Rest assured, there will be many of them!

All in all, this was an amazing experience and I have so much material to bring back to the classroom.  (!!)

3 responses

  1. Jessica, what a a fantastic journey you have been on. It’s probably best that you left the UCB cable in your checked luggage. Now, you can take a much needed break and get some rest. We can give you a day or two before we will begin demanding more uploads! Welcome home!

    August 14, 2011 at 10:18 pm

  2. Jose Florian

    Hope you have a great and safe flight home ! 🙂
    Everything you have posted is very interesting cant wait to hear it from your voice when school starts it’ll be way much easier for you to explain stuff.
    i am looking forward to a great year with you as one of my teachers !

    August 15, 2011 at 1:15 am

    • Jose,

      Looking forward to connecting once we’re at school. I am so glad that the blog was of interest to you. Let it inspire you to dream big…. where do YOU want to go? What do YOU want to do?

      Ms. Bruck

      August 15, 2011 at 7:24 am

Leave a comment